[30 Day Challenge] Contact 30 Podcast Idols

Random Observation/Comment #739: People are pretty amazing.

Random Observation/Comment #739: People are pretty amazing.

Why this Challenge?

Above and beyond my lovely friends and family, I’ve been kept company by the voices and stories from podcasts through monotonous and stressful times. To show my gratitude, I will reach out to all of my regulars (and even record a question!). Here are my top 30 podcasts and the ways to contact them.

How to run it?

I haven’t decided if I should slide into DMs or send an email, but I’ll send one a day for the next 30 days.

What will you write?

I’ll probably just tell people they’re awesome and how much their show means to me. I’m still contemplating whether or not to share this link.

If you want to see all of the aggregated twitter followers, I’ve made a list of them: https://twitter.com/clemens_wan/lists/idols-30-day-challenge Feel free to subscribe. Full list of Members on the Twitter list.

Funnies and Improv

  1. Hello from the Magic Tavern ( http://hellofromthemagictavern.com/ , https://twitter.com/MagicTavern ) – Arnie Niekamp ( https://twitter.com/misterarnie ), Adal Rifai ( https://www.twitter.com/adalrifai ) , Matt Young ( https://twitter.com/morepeoplehappy ) – email: magictavern@puppies.supplies or chuntttttt@gmail.com

  2. Hey Riddle Riddle ( https://www.heyriddleriddle.com/ ) – Adal Rifai ( https://www.twitter.com/adalrifai ) , John Patrick Coan (JPC , https://twitter.com/jpsofly ) , & Erin Keif ( https://twitter.com/erinkeif2 )

  3. Nobody Listens to Paula Poundstone ( http://www.paulapoundstone.com/ ) – Paula Poundstone ( https://twitter.com/PaulaPoundstone ) , Adam Felber ( https://twitter.com/adamfelber )

  4. Dr Gameshow ( https://twitter.com/DrGameshow ) – Jo Firestone ( https://www.jofirestone.com/ ) & Manolo ( https://twitter.com/manolosomething )

  5. Welcome to Nightvale ( https://twitter.com/nightvaleradio ) – Cecil Baldwin ( https://twitter.com/CecilBaldwinIII )

  6. Big Grande Teacher’s Lounge ( https://www.earwolf.com/show/big-grande-teachers-lounge/ ) – Drew Tarver ( https://twitter.com/drewtarver ) , Dan Lippert, Jon Mackey, Ryan Rosenberg ( https://twitter.com/chosenberg )

  7. Beef and Dairy Network ( https://twitter.com/beefanddairy ) – Ben Partridge ( https://twitter.com/benpartridge )

Fake Internet Court and Random

  1. A Good Cry ( https://headgum.com/a-good-cry ) – Michael Cruz Kayne ( https://twitter.com/CruzKayne )

  2. Make My Day ( https://twitter.com/MakeMyDayPod ) – Josh Gondalmen ( https://twitter.com/joshgondelman )

  3. Judge John Hodgman ( https://twitter.com/JudgeHodgmanPod ) – John Hodgman ( https://twitter.com/Hodgman ) & Jesse Thorn ( https://twitter.com/JesseThorn )

  4. We Got This with Mark & Hal ( https://twitter.com/wegotthistweets ) – Mark Gagliardi ( https://twitter.com/markgags ) and Hal Luiblin ( https://twitter.com/hallublin )

NPR and Relax

  1. NPR Smart Wave ( https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510351/short-wave ) – prev Maddie Sofia ( https://twitter.com/maddie_sofia ) & now Emily Kwong ( https://twitter.com/emilykwong1234 )

  2. NPR The Indicator from Planet Money ( https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510325/the-indicator-from-planet-money ) – prev Cardiff Garcia ( https://twitter.com/CardiffGarcia ) & Stacey Vanek Smith ( https://twitter.com/svaneksmith ) and now

  3. NPR Ask Me Another ( https://www.npr.org/programs/ask-me-another ) – Ophira Eisenberg ( https://twitter.com/OphiraE ) & Jonathan Coulton ( https://twitter.com/jonathancoulton )

  4. Life Kit ( https://twitter.com/NPRLifeKit ) – Split number of hosts – may just drop into some DMs or use the NPR form: https://help.npr.org/contact/s/contact?request=Contact-an-NPR-show-or-podcast

  5. Levar Burton Reads ( https://www.levarburtonpodcast.com/ ) – Levar Burton ( https://twitter.com/levarburton )

  6. The Memory Palace ( https://thememorypalace.us/ ) – Nate DiMeo ( https://twitter.com/thememorypalace )

  7. The Sporkful – Dan Pashman ( https://twitter.com/TheSporkful )

Science, Tech and Business

  1. Pivot ( https://www.vox.com/pivot-with-kara-swisher-and-scott-galloway ) – Kara Swisher ( https://twitter.com/karaswisher ) , Scott Galloway ( https://twitter.com/profgalloway )

  2. Prof G Show – Scott Galloway ( https://twitter.com/profgalloway )

  3. All-In Podcast ( https://twitter.com/theallinpod ) – The Besties! – Chamath Palihapitiya ( https://twitter.com/chamath ) & Jason Calcanis ( https://twitter.com/Jason ) & David Sacks ( https://twitter.com/DavidSacks ) & David Friedberg ( https://twitter.com/friedberg )

  4. TED Radio Hour / How I Built This ( https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour , https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510313/how-i-built-this ) – prev Guy Raz ( https://twitter.com/guyraz )

  5. Hidden Brain ( https://twitter.com/HiddenBrain ) – Shankar Vedantam ( https://twitter.com/HiddenBrain )

  6. Star Talk ( https://www.startalkradio.net/ , https://twitter.com/StarTalkRadio ) – Neil DeGrasse Tyson ( https://twitter.com/neiltyson ) & Chuck Nice ( https://twitter.com/chucknicecomic )

  7. Science Rules ( https://www.askbillnye.com/ ) – Bill Nye ( https://twitter.com/BillNye )

  8. Every Little Thing (ELT) ( https://gimletmedia.com/shows/every-little-thing ) – Flora Lichtman ( https://twitter.com/flichtman )

  9. Revisionist History ( https://www.pushkin.fm/show/revisionist-history/ ) – Malcom Gladwell ( https://twitter.com/Gladwell )

  10. No Stupid Questions ( https://twitter.com/NSQ_Show ) – Angela Duckworth ( https://twitter.com/angeladuckw ) and Stephen Dubner (who doesn’t have a twitter? – https://twitter.com/Freakonomics )

  11. Bankless ( https://twitter.com/BanklessHQ ) – Ryan Sean Adams ( https://twitter.com/RyanSAdanns )

  12. SIGNAL by ConsenSys ( https://signal-by-consensys.simplecast.com/ ) – Lex Sokolin ( https://twitter.com/LexSokolin )

~See Lemons Be Grateful for Podcasters

Other Shows and Cool People I’ll probably contact after my retro: